Join Us:   
days    hrs    min    sec
Reconnecting and Building Community with a Health Equity Focus


We are pleased to bring together NCSP Scholars from our training sites across the country and distinguished invited speakers to share their research and expertise during this important three-day event. (Please note that attendance at the conference is by invitation only.)

The NCSP Annual Meeting is a critical step in fostering the development of Clinician Scholars as change agents driving policy-relevant research and partnerships to combat systemic inequality, eliminate health disparities, and improve health and health care. We look forward to your participation and support in making this year's meeting a great success.

In attendance will be current NCSP Scholars, faculty, and staff from our six program sites (Duke University; University of California Los Angeles; University of California San Francisco; University of Michigan; and Yale University), NCSP and RWJF Clinical Scholars alumni, NCSP National Program Board members, community partners, and invited speakers.

Please note that attendance at this conference is by invitation only.

Please review the health and safety protocol for the 2022 Annual Meeting here.

Meet Our Plenary Speakers


Kristen Bibbins-Domingo

Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, PhD, MD, MAS

Dr. Bibbins-Domingo is the 17th Editor in Chief of the Journal of the American Medical Association (JAMA) and the JAMA Network. She is the Lee Goldman, MD Endowed Professor of Medicine and Professor of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of California San Francisco.

Dr. Anish Mahajan

Anish Mahajan, MD, MS, MPH

Dr. Mahajan is Chief Executive Officer and Chief Medical Officer of Harbor-UCLA Medical Center, a Level I trauma center and academic safety-net hospital serving south Los Angeles County. Dr. Mahajan also serves as an Associate Dean of the UCLA-Geffen School of Medicine.

Dr. Mark Smith

Mark Smith, MD, MBA

Dr. Smith is currently a Professor of Clinical Medicine at the University of California San Francisco. From 1996 through 2013, Smith was the Founding President & CEO of the California Health Care Foundation, an independent endowed philanthropy in Oakland, CA.

Bob Wachter, MD

Robert Wachter, MD

Dr. Wachter is Professor and Chair of the Department of Medicine at the University of California San Francisco. Wachter is the author of 300 articles and 6 books. He coined the term “hospitalist” in 1996 and is often considered the “father” of the hospitalist field, the fastest growing specialty in the history of modern medicine.

Dr. Shannon Zenk

Shannon Zenk, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN

Dr. Zenk is Director of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR). She joined NINR in September 2020, following a 14-year career as a faculty member at the University of Illinois Chicago (UIC) College of Nursing and Institute for Health Research and Policy.

Meeting Host

We would like to thank this year's host site, University of California San Francisco, for their leadership in organizing the meeting.